One of Those Days

I’m a bit swamped today, between Real Life, the Work in Progress and one or two other things I’m working on, so with that in mind let me do some quick sharing. We all love to share and blather about ourselves, right?

Things I Do Not Care About

To all media outlets, everywhere: Charlie Sheen’s apparent mental breakdown.
To people who comment on youtube videos: Justin Bieber/Lady Gaga/Katy Perry.
To amazon.co.uk: Bargains to be found on clothes airers. I clicked one link damn you!
To football broadcasters: The opinion of the vast majority of pundits you hire.
To our fridge: That funny whiff coming from behind you. I’ve learned to live with it, nothing can convince me to lug your heavy arse out of your cubby hole to find out what it is.
To our cat: I never liked the wallpaper in the passage that much, anyway.

Things I Do Care About

To my fiction writing brain: Completing my current work in progress, stop distracting me with the urge to write something else.
To the internet: Pictures of Bridget Moynahan. I don’t care if I’m shallow, vapid and guilty of objectifying an intelligent and talented actress, I just never get tired of looking at her.
To my reading brain: Reading the good stuff. Stop trying to convince me to reread bad stuff and post reviews of it.
To the world in general: Being too broke to afford Dragon Age II, so trying to figure out whether it’s worth trading in Heavy Rain, Fallout: New Vegas and a few less prestigious games to help finance the purchase.

That’s all for now. Drop a comment telling me what you do and don’t care about and I’ll catch you again soon.

One response to “One of Those Days

  1. OK, here goes:

    Things I Don’t Care About:

    To mainstream TV: almost all of your output. This is not me being snooty. If you’re a fan My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding on Ice or whatever, fair enough. Long as I’ve got Dave, the Discovery Channel and classic episodes of Whose Line Is It Anyway? on YouTube, I’m happy.
    To modern movie trailers: any movie you advertise with the patronizing phrase “this year”. I know the film’s coming out this year, because you’re advertising it this year. I don’t watch movie trailers and think, “That looks a good film, but how can I make plans to see it if I don’t know if it’s gonna be in cinemas this year or in five years time?” Using the phrase “this year” guarantees that I will NEVER watch your movie, not this year, not next year, not any year! Same goes for orchestral scores.

    Things I Do Care About

    To Dan’s fiction writing brain: your attempts to distract or undermine his productivity. Let the man work, dammit!
    To my comic drawing brain: your attempts to distract me with stuff on Dave, the Discovery Channel and classic episodes of Whose Line Is It Anyway? on YouTube.
    To Kurt Angle: your decision to stay with TNA. It breaks my heart that I’ll never be able to chant “You suck!” in time with your awesome WWE theme ever again.
    To John Allison: the (as yet) non-appearance of Scary-Go-Round follow-up Destroy History. I miss Shelley Winters, damn it!
    To the people of Japan: your pain and suffering on this dark day. I’m not able to give much, but I will do my bit towards helping the relief effort.

Leave a Reply

